ALBUM REVIEW: SETYØURSAILS’ explosive second album “Bad Blood” out on April 12th via Napalm Records

    Album review by HEX


    German modern metalcore sensation SETYØURSAILS is gearing up to drop their second studio album, “Bad Blood“, on April 12, 2024, on Napalm Records.

    These guys have been tearing up the scene since their debut album “Nightfall” back in 2022, and now, with “Bad Blood”, they’re ready to take things to a whole new level. With infectious tracks, insane energy, and a killer collab with Adrian Estrella from Zebrahead, it’s gonna be wild!

    And here at ROCKwell Unscene Magazine, our reviewer HEX has great pleasure to review their album.

    SETYØURSAILS album review

    Recommended for fans of: In This Moment, Motionless In White, Spiritbox.

     Cast the lines and look to the horizon, because German modern metalcore band SETYØURSAILS are heading for your shores with their brand new album, ‘ Bad Blood’.

    These guys are not wasting any time making a name for themselves in the madhouse that is the heavy metal music scene. With only two years passed since their debut album ‘Nightfall’, SETYØURSAILS are very clearly determined to get out there and show the world what they can do; boasting extensive tours and festival performances across 2023 and then flying into 2024 with a fiery fresh set of tracks guaranteed to blow your mind and have you counting down the hours until their next upcoming tours.

    (and maybe question how they have this much energy? Seriously guys, do you even sleep?)

    To try and summarise this album would be almost impossible as there are so many good individual parts to each track that make them so alike and yet so unique. It’s not often you can have such a unique combination of the deep gutturals that would not go amiss in any good old-fashioned mosh pit, combined with vocals that are both powerful and proud but equally gut-wrenching and tear-jerking alongside some of the best electronic melodies to have recently graced the scene. In some aspects, it never should have worked. Yet here stands SETYØURSAILS with ten new tracks in hand, ready to take to stages across the world and ride the waves of success.

    As is typical of me and my blatant inability to pick a favourite of anything when presented with so many good options, I had a really hard time choosing which of the tracks I liked the best, especially when each one had so much to offer. I will say though, if I had to pick, I would have to say ‘Best Of Me’, ‘Halo’ and ‘Lately’ would probably be my top 3. ‘Best Of Me’ is one of those wonderful juxtaposing tracks, mixing those classic heavy metal bass riffs and obliterating vocals with an almost techno-style delivery alongside sweet sweet electric guitar. ‘Halo’ is on the list for very similar reasons, the mix of electronic and raspy growls hits in all the right spots, while the lyrics give a confidence boost which is both uplifting and vindicating when you listen to the meaning. ‘Lately’ was always going to be a favourite from the moment I heard the chorus, this song is absolutely beautiful. Released early alongside ‘Best Of Me’ and ‘Bad Blood feat. Adrian Estrella), this track encompasses everything that comes to mind when people say how music is supposed to make you feel. The vocals are astounding, combined with just the right amount of electric guitar and heavy drum and bass that; when combined, create a song that is nothing short of sensational and was made to light up a stage and take an arena by storm.

    Whether you’re looking for something new and exciting or trying to find a band that covers all of the bases for your ideal playlist, SETYØURSAILS new album is most definitely the one for you! Trust me, while the album title might suggest it, there is definitely not going to be any bad blood over this one!

    Pre-order “Bad Blood” HERE

    ‘Bad Blood’ Track List:

    1. Bad Blood feat. Adrian Estrella
    2. Best Of Me
    3. T.F.M.F
    4. Halo
    5. Lately
    6. Dangerous
    7. Bad Company
    8. In My Head
    9. Heart Attack
    10. Eternally


    Jules Mitch – vocals, songwriting

    André Alves – guitar, songwriting

    Henrik Kellershohn – drums

    Nicolai Hoch – bass

    SETYØURSAILS live 2024:

    Unite & Conquer

    w/ Rising Insane

    12.04.24 DE – Leipzig / Naumanns

    13.04.24 DE – Oldenburg / Amadeus

    14.04.24 DE – Berlin / Cassiopeia

    19.04.24 DE – Rostock / M.A.U. Club

    20.04.24 DE – Münster / Sputnik Cafe

    21.04.24 DE – Cologne / Gebäude 9

    10.05.24 DE – Hamburg / Headcrash

    11.05.24 DE – Hanover / Bei Chéz Heinz

    12.05.24 DE – Wiesbaden / Schlachthof

    17.05.24 DE – Munich / Feierwerk

    18.05.24 DE – Karlsruhe / Die Stadtmitte

    19.05.24 DE – Nuremberg / Z-Bau

    Latest articles

    The Darkness with the Southern River Band – The Castle Sessions at Warwick Castle, July 4th 2024.

    It’s the 4th of July and it’s likely there’ll be some fireworks on and off the stage as The Darkness descends on historic Warwick Castle...

    Cavalera Conspiracy With Support From Ashes Of Ire 18th June 2024 Corporation, Sheffield (UK).

    The Third World Trilogy Tour. Who is the Cavalera Conspiracy? The band was created following a 10-year silence between Max and Iggor Cavalera. The two brothers...

    X Ambassadors Supported By New West And Rowan Drake June 5, 2024 The Norva, Norfolk , Virginia (USA)

    X Ambassadors stopped in Norfolk, Virginia on their Townie: North American Tour. A tour aimed at bringing the music from their latest album Townie,...

    METALLICA: Metallica Fortnite Music Experience This Weekend!

    This weekend only, jump in to Fortnite to experience Metallica’s music like never before in Metallica: Fuel. Fire. Fury. This immersive music experience journeys...

    Related articles