A Day To Remember, Beartooth and Bad Omens 28th August 2022, Portsmouth, VA (USA).

    Review And Picture Credit - Michael Spencer Photography.

    What was billed to be a night of Rock ‘N’ Roll at an outdoor amphitheater in a coastal section of Virginia, there can be challenges with the weather. The show was delayed due to local lightning, and with it having a metal roof, it kind of makes sense. A lot of those waiting in the rain expressed concern that they might get a shortened set. Having seen all of these bands before, and some of them multiple times, I knew better.

    Once the near capacity crowd got in and was situated, Richmond, Virginia (USA) based Bad Omens hit the stage. They are a metalcore band with a similar style as Bring Me the Horizon. Their 8-song set included songs from both of their releases, including their album ‘The Death of Peace of Mind,’ released February this year.

    Noah Sebastian – lead vocal Joakim Karlsson – vocals, guitar
    Nicholas Ruffilo – bass, guitar Nick Folio – drums

    3. The Grey
    4. Nowhere to Go
    5. Like a Villain
    6. Limits
    7. Just Pretend
    8. Dethrone

    Next up on the bill, was Columbus, OH (USA) based Beartooth. I have seen them before in various positions on bills, including headlining, but from the second these hit the stage, I knew this was going to be something special. Lead singer Caleb Shomo was like that squirrel in the road who can’t figure out which way to run as your car approaches. He was all over the place and the crowd responded with numerous pits, crowd surfers, as well as a very loud crowd singing along with him. They touched on most of them with a heavy focus on their latest release, 2021s Below. If you get to catch them near you, you definitely need to find a way to make it happen. You won’t be disappointed.


    Caleb Shomo – lead vocals, all studio instruments
    Oshie Bichar – bass, backing vocals
    Connor Denis – drums, backing vocals
    Zach Huston – lead guitar, backing vocals
    Will Deely – rhythm guitar

    1. The Lines
    2. Devastation
    3. In Between
    4. You Never Know
    5. Bad Listener
    6. Riptide
    7. Hated
    8. Disease
    9. The Past Is Dead
    10. The Last Riff

    Closing out the night was Ocala, FL (USA) based A Day to Remember. After what Beartooth brought to the stage, I knew ADTR was going to be taking it up a notch or two. This was evidenced with them opening with 2009s ‘Downfall Of Us All.’ Right from the start, vocalist Jeremy McKinnon had this crowd right where he wanted. The mosh pits raged, the crowd surfers were plenty, but it wasn’t quite enough, they found the need to toss about 25 oversized beach balls into the crowd to help them burn off the extra energy. All in all, it was what we have come to expect from ADTR: Well executed, meticulously planned, camaraderie amongst the band, as well as with the audience, along with catchy songs from your warped tour years. Are they pop punk? Maybe. Are they metalcore? Maybe. Am I going to go see them again in a couple days? You betcha. There are shows that are great musically, there are shows that are great visually, but when you can get all of those standards met at one show, that is the one you go see multiple times.

    Jeremy McKinnon – lead vocals (2003–present)
    Neil Westfall – rhythm guitar, backing vocals (2003–present)
    Alex Shelnutt – drums (2006–present)
    Kevin Skaff – lead guitar, backing vocals (2009–present)

    1. The Downfall of Us All
    2. All I Want
    3. Paranoia
    4. A Shot in the Dark
    5. Degenerates
    6. 2nd Sucks
    7. Right Back at It Again
    8. Rescue Me
    9. Have Faith in Me
    10. Last Chance to Dance (Bad Friend)
    11. I’m Made of Wax, Larry, What Are You Made Of?
    12. Mindreader
    13. Miracle
    14. All Signs Point to Lauderdale
    15. Mr. Highway’s Thinking About the End
    16. Resentment
    17. If It Means a Lot to You
    18. Monument
    19. Sometimes You’re the Hammer, Sometimes You’re the Nail
    20. The Plot to Bomb the Panhandle

    Latest articles

    AVATAR | Release Pre-orders For Their 9th Studio Album ‘Dance Devil Dance’ Revealing Track Listing Including Ft Duet With Lzzy Hale.

    The heavy metal, dark, madcap visionaries, collectively known as AVATAR, have emerged from deep within the Swedish forest in which they have been working...

    METALLICA | 72 Seasons New Album Set To Drop April 14, 2023. M72 World Tour 2023-2024 Pre-Sales Begin 9am Local Time November 30th (North...

    Metallica has confirmed the title and release date of its forthcoming 12th studio album: 72 Seasons will be available April 14, 2023 via the...

    THOSE DAMN CROWS | Welcome You To The Official ‘Rock N Roll Cup’ Friday 2nd December 2022.

    Just days after the Wales vs England match being held in Qatar for the FIFA World Cup 2022, Earache Records will be holding its...

    SPIRITWORLD | Album Review ‘Deathwestern’ Out 25th November 2022 via Century Records.

    Like the shriek of the wind across the desert plane, Spiritworld return to the alternative scene with their second album ‘Deathwestern’. Recommended for fans of:...

    Related articles